What We Do

We engage with the agricultural community to increase
awareness and change practice.

Contact Us

Accredited spray advisors

SOS Macquarie Valley invited agronomists and advisors in the Macquarie Valley to a spray workshop in September 2018 with keynote speaker Bill Gordon, highly respected spray advisor and educator, who worked with Nufarm until October 2018. 

This workshop addressed the latest spray techniques and methods to ensure spraying is effective and avoids off-target drift. The advisors who attended this workshop have made a commitment to ongoing professional education and to understanding the impacts that choices about nozzle size, weather conditions and other factors can have on spray effectiveness.

Advisors workshop feedback

Seventy advisors and agronomists from across the valley attended the workshop. Of those, 48 completed feedback surveys at the end of the day. These surveys suggested the workshop was very well received, with 100% of ground spray advisors indicating they completed the day feeling more confident to provide advice about the setup and operation of spray systems.

Half of the day’s participants rated their knowledge about spray set up and operation before the day as average.

Interestingly, most advisors regularly advise on product choice and rate, water rates and weather, but most do not regularly advise on nozzle selection, travel speeds and boom height. This suggests the time spent in the field with Dave Farmer was very worthwhile.

All ground spray operators responded positively when asked if the workshop would help reduce off-target spray drift in the valley. Only three people were unsure if accreditation of advisors would be valuable.

The winner of the $100 Dan Murphy voucher was Graeme Callaghan of Delta Ag.

Download the Advisors Workshop Feedback Summary (PDF, 83kb)

Accredited advisors

The advisors listed below are now recognised as SOS Accredited Spray Advisors for the Macquarie Valley.


Tyler Austin Brett Mawbey  
Jon Bennett       Stephen  McAnally
Mal  Birrell Chris McCormack
Ed Blackburn Peta Miguel
Scott  Boyd Jeff Noonan
Andrew Brewer Ben O'Brien
Alex Brooker Glenn Orman
Graeme Callaghan Sam  Pagan
Matt Ceeney Harry  Pickering
Scott Ceeney Ryan Pratten 
Christie Chapman Graeme Proctor
Andrew Cooper Paul Purvis
Tom  Cullen Matt  Shephard
Adam Davis Glenn Shepherd
Dave Farmer Sam Simons
Chris Fletcher Murray  Skinner
Luke Frecklington Dave Strahorn
Hugo Graesser  Maurie Street
Jake Hall Amanda Thomas 
Glenn Hall Chris  Turner
Michael Harris Dean  Walton
David Klaare Matt Ward
Rodney Krueger Matt Westgarth
Justin Lewis Dean  Whitton
Jack Madgwick Hayley Wilson
Brian Marchant
Scroll To Top